5:22 pm - Thursday December 14, 2017

Teresa Porter named Colorado Small Biz Person of theYear‏

Teresa Porter, CEO of ISYS Technologies has been named the U.S. Small Business Administration’s (SBA) 2015 Colorado Small Business Person of the Year. ISYS Technologies is a woman-owned small business that provides engineering and information technology services to federal, state, and local government entities.  Headquartered in Littleton, CO, the firm serves key national customers including the Department of Defense, Department of Homeland Security, NASA, and many other federal civilian agencies.  Porter is one of nine statewide Small Business Week award winners selected by the SBA, and will be recognized at an award ceremony to be held May 6 in Aurora.
“Colorado has become one of the best states in the nation to start and grow a small business,” states Edward Cadena, SBA’s Colorado District Director. “Each of our Small Business Week winners exemplifies the importance of entrepreneurship in this state.  Small business remains the backbone of our economy; they maintain our local tax base, hire locally, and support our local community organizations and non-profits.”

Every year since 1963, the President of the United States has issued a proclamation announcing National Small Business Week, which recognizes the critical contributions of America’s entrepreneurs and small business owners. More than half of Americans either own or work for a small business, and they create about two out of every three new jobs in the U.S. each year. As part of National Small Business Week, the SBA takes the opportunity to highlight the impact of outstanding entrepreneurs, lenders, resource partners, small business owners, and others from all 50 states and U.S. territories.

Complete list of Colorado small business award winners:

1.      Colorado Small Business Person of the Year

Teresa Porter, ISYS Technologies

Littleton, CO

2.      Colorado and Region VIII Small Business Exporter of the Year

Sheila Jaszlics, Pathfinder Systems, Inc.

Arvada, CO

(The Region VIII award encompasses winners from Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming.)

3.      Colorado Small Business Development Center Excellence and Innovation Award

Southwest Colorado Small Business Development Center (SBDC)

Joe Keck, Director

Durango, CO

4.      Colorado 7(a) Large Lender of the Year
US Bank

5.      Colorado 7(a) Small Lender of the Year
Colorado Business (COBIZ) Bank

6.      Colorado 504 Large Certified Development Company of the Year
Colorado Lending Source
Denver, CO

7.      Colorado 504 Small Certified Development Company of the Year
Preferred Lending Partners/Denver Urban Economic Development Company
Denver, CO

8.      Colorado Community/Rural Lender of the Year
Colorado Enterprise Fund
Denver, CO

9.      Region VIII Subcontractor of the Year

Allegiance Consulting, Inc.

George “Mike” Byrd, President/CEO

Denver, CO

For more information on winners from individual cities or towns, please contact Christopher Chavez at 303-844-0508.



Filed in: community / comunidad