3:13 pm - Saturday December 18, 4658

Top Triathletes Hit Las Vegas During Interbike for USA TriathlonSuper Sprint Series‏

Top Triathletes Hit Las Vegas for USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series on Thursday


$70,000 prize purse up for grabs for top-15 men and women


The USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series returns to Las Vegas on Thursday, Sept. 11, with a number of the world’s best triathletes set to compete under the lights and on national television for a share of the $70,000 prize purse at the Las Vegas Convention Center.

The USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series was launched in 2013 to showcase the speed and excitement of draft-legal triathlon in an incredibly spectator-friendly format. U.S. Olympian Sarah Groff (Hanover, N.H.), who finished the season as the No. 2 world-ranked woman in triathlon, highlights the start list along with more than 50 elite triathletes from the U.S., Australia, Canada, Chile, Ireland and Brazil.

The list also includes U.S. Olympian Jarrod Shoemaker (Clermont, Fla.), who won a series event in Milwaukee in August; Alan Webb (Beaverton, Ore.), former track star and American record holder in the mile; and Australian Erin Densham, who won bronze in the London 2012 Olympic Games triathlon. A complete list of competitors in the Las Vegas Super Sprint Triathlon Grand Prix is below.


Athletes will complete a 300-meter swim in a portable pool before completing an 8-kilometer bike and 2.5-kilometer run, with qualifying heats beginning at 8:30 a.m. PT. The A finals, set for 8 p.m. PT under the bright lights of Las Vegas, will feature two continuous, non-stop circuits of the same course. The top three athletes from each qualifying heat plus the fastest fourth-place finisher will be guaranteed one of the 10 starting positions per gender in the A finals. The B finals with the fourth, fifth and sixth finishers in each heat will begin at 6 p.m. PT.


The invitation-only pro field will compete for a total of $70,000 in prize money. A $62,000 prize purse will be shared equally between the overall male and female fields, with the top-15 finishers being rewarded in each division. There will also be a $7,500 prize purse shared among the top-three men’s and women’s U.S. athletes as part of the USA Triathlon Elite Sprint National Championships.


Qualifying and final heats of the event are free and open to the public. The Las Vegas Convention Center, located at 3150 Paradise Road, is the host of the event, which will be held in the parking lot off Convention Center Drive, approximately 3.3 miles from Mandalay Bay. Mandalay Bay is the site of 2014 USA Triathlon Art & Science of Triathlon International Coaching Symposium.


The race takes place in Las Vegas during Interbike, the largest annual cycling trade show in North America also held at Mandalay Bay, allowing endurance industry leaders to experience the engaging course design firsthand. The event will be broadcast nationwide on Universal Sports Network on Oct. 1 at 8 p.m. ET.


Visit usatriathlon.org/ss14lasvegas for more information.


USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series
Super Sprint Triathlon Grand Prix – Las Vegas


Competitors – Women
Chelsea Burns (Phoenix, Ariz.)

Summer Cook (Thornton, Colo.)

Erin Densham (AUS)

Kaitlin Donner (Satellite Beach, Fla.)

Paula Findlay (CAN)

Sarah Groff (Hanover, N.H.)

Zara Guinard (Salt Lake City, Utah)

Julia Hauser (AUT)

Bailey Hinz (Las Vegas, Nev.)
Katie Hursey (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Lindsey Jerdonek (Sagamore Hills, Ohio)
Erin Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Kirsten Kasper (Marietta, Ga.)
Sara McLarty (Clermont, Fla.)

Sinead O’Dwyer (Boulder, Colo.)
Barbara Riveros (CHI)

Kirsten Sweetland (CAN)

Renee Tomlin (Ocean City, N.J.)

Nicole Truxes (Tempe, Ariz.)

Melinda Vernon (AUS)
Laurel Wassner (New York, N.Y.)

Competitors – Men
Armando Abaunza (PAN)

Casey Bateman (BIZ)

Nick Bernal (San Diego, Calif.)
Ryan Bice (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Ian Boggs (Zionsville, Ind.)

Andrew Bysice (CAN)

Mauro Cavanha (BRA)

Davide Giardini (Boulder, Colo.)

Kyle Hughes (Carlsbad, Calif.)
Sean Jefferson (Palisades, Calif.)
Bill Jones (La Jolla, Calif.)
Ben Kanute (Tucson, Ariz.)

Nick Karwoski (Hollis, N.H.)
Eric Lagerstrom (Gresham, Ore.)
Alex Libin (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Hunter Lussi (Kensington, Md.)

Brian MacArthur (Tucson, Ariz.)
Joe Maloy (Wildwood Crest, N.J.)
Conor Murphy (IRL)

John O’Neill (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Patrick Parish (Bloomington, Minn.)

Jason Pedersen (Simi Valley, Calif.)

Tyler Rodgers (Coto De Caza, Calif.)
Justin Roeder (Fishers, Ind.)

Aaron Royle (AUS)

Jarrod Shoemaker (Clermont, Fla.)

Felt Trapper (Mammoth Lakes, Calif.)

Felipe Van de Wyngard (CHI)
Alan Webb (Beaverton, Ore.)
Tommy Zaferes (Soquel, Calif.)



Super Sprint Triathlon



Filed in: sports / deportes