2:25 am - Wednesday January 24, 2018

District 11 Gains Six New National Board Certified Teachers and Two National Board Certified Renewals

Colorado Springs School District 11 is pleased to announce that Diana Beatty, Jenny Chapman, Elizabeth Dombrowski, Clinton Knox, Heidi O’Neill, andMartine Wilshusen achieved National Board Certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS).  Jill Doyle and Karen Shorkeysuccessfully renewed their certifications, through the National Board renewal process.  Throughout the year-long commitment to the assessment process, these National Board Certified Teachers measured their teaching practice against the highest professional teaching standards in the country.  Diana, Jenny, Elizabeth, Clinton, Heidi, and Martine join 34 other previously certified District 11 National Board Certified Teachers. These board certified professionals represent the quality education that is available to students in District 11 as they provide excellent, distinctive educational experiences that equip students for success today and in the future.


National Board Certification is the highest credential in the teaching profession. To those in Colorado who achieve the title of National Board Certified Teacher (NBCT), the Colorado Department of Education awards its top certification, the Colorado Master Teacher Certificate.


A voluntary process established by NBPTS, National Board Certification is achieved through a rigorous 400-600 hour performance-based assessment that measures what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do. It takes between one and three years to achieve National Board Certification, and about 38% of teachers who complete the process actually achieve certification the first time. There are over 106,000 National Board Certified Teachers nationwide, 839 in Colorado, and 40 in District 11.



Filed in: community / comunidad