11:12 am - Tuesday December 12, 2017

FEMA Request for Public Assistance deadline extended until Nov. 30‏

The deadline for eligible applicants to apply for a Request for Public Assistance has been extended to Nov. 30, 2013.

Eligible applicants are local governments, certain nonprofit organizations and state agencies in the 18 Colorado counties designated for Public Assistance.

Originally, the first 10 counties designated in September had a deadline of Nov. 16. The counties are Adams, Boulder, Clear Creek, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, Logan, Morgan, Washington and Weld.

The additional eight counties designated in October, Arapahoe, Crowley, Denver, Fremont, Gilpin, Lake, Lincoln and Sedgwick, previously had a Nov. 20 deadline.

FEMA Public Assistance funding helps communities recover by providing a 75 percent federal reimbursement for eligible, disaster-related costs for debris removal, emergency measures, and permanent work to repair and replace disaster-damaged public facilities.

The remaining 25 percent non-federal share comes from state and local sources. The state manages the grants for all projects.

Projects fall into the following categories:

• Category A: Debris Removal

• Category B: Emergency Protective Measures

• Category C: Road Systems and Bridges

• Category D: Water Control Facilities

• Category E: Public Buildings and Contents

• Category F: Public Utilities

• Category G: Parks, Recreational and other



Filed in: community / comunidad