9:05 am - Tuesday December 12, 2017

Clear Creek, El Paso and Jefferson Counties Eligible for Individual Disaster Assistance

Three additional counties are now eligible for individual disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).


Homeowners, renters and business owners in Clear Creek, El Paso and Jefferson counties who sustained damage as a result of the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides that began on Sept. 11, 2013 may now apply for federal disaster assistance.


Individual Assistance was extended after ongoing damage assessments by officials from the Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management and FEMA.


The three additional counties bring the number of Colorado counties eligible for individual assistance to seven.


The four previously-designated counties are Adams, Boulder, Larimer and Weld.


Individual assistance can include grants for home repairs not covered by insurance as well as rental costs for a temporary home. Grants may also help with serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance—such as medical, dental and funeral expenses, moving and storage fees, and personal property replacement.


Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for eligible homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private nonprofit organizations can cover losses not fully compensated by insurance.


Residents in the seven eligible counties may register online at disasterassistance.gov or type m.fema.gov on their smartphone.


To apply for disaster assistance by phone, call FEMA at 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585). Survivors who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services may call 800-621-3362 to register. The toll-free numbers remain open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week.

For more information on the Colorado disaster operation, visit fema.gov/disaster/4145.



Filed in: community / comunidad