1:34 am - Thursday February 22, 2018

Pikes Peak Range Riders Announce Silver Spur Award‏




Dr. Pamela Shockley-Zalabak was awarded the 2013 Silver Spur Award on June 23, 2013. The annual award started in 1960 by the Pikes Peak Range Riders is given to an outstanding citizen of the community. Pamela is the Chancellor and a Professor of Communications at the University of Colorado, Colorado Springs.


During the award presentation, Pikes Peak Range Rider Chris Jones said that “Pamela’s impact on Colorado Springs has been immense; through her dedicated service, leadership, inspired vision, and a fervent commitment to our community”.


An Oklahoma native and graduate of Oklahoma State University in Stillwater; Pamela earned both a bachelor and master’s degree in communication; she continued her education at the University of Colorado in Boulder earning a PhD in organizational communications in 1980.


Pamela began her career as a teaching assistant at Oklahoma State; arriving at UCCS in 1976 as a communications instructor. She has since served as a full professor, assistant to the Chancellor, vice-chancellor, and became the Chancellor of UCCS in 2002. Under her direction as Chancellor, UCCS has expanded successfully to one of the fastest growing universities in the country. UCCS merged with the Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences in 2001 and building has begun at the UCCS campus for the University of Colorado, School of Medicine.


Awards earned by Pamela include: University of Colorado Thomas Jefferson Award; President’s Award for Outstanding Service; Chancellor’s Award for Distinguished Faculty; Colorado Speech Communication Association Distinguished Member Award; 2003 Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce ATHENA Women in Business Award; 2005 Student Government Association Student Choice for Instructor of the Year; 2008 Colorado Springs Business Journal Women of Influence; 2001 Leadership Pikes Peak Makepeace Community Trustee Award.


In addition, Pamela has published eight books and over 100 articles and productions on organizational communication; her latest book, “Building the High Trust Organization” was published in 2010.


Past Silver Spur Award recipients include Thayer Tutt, Nick and Bambi Venetucci, Robert C. Norris, Harry Hoth, Merv Bennett, David Jenkins, and Cindy Fowler.




Filed in: community / comunidad