4:17 pm - Tuesday November 21, 2017

Chrabot Finishes 12th in ITU World Triathlon Series Opener in Auckland

American triathlete Matt Chrabot logged a 12th-place finish Saturday at the Barfoot & Thompson World Triathlon Auckland, the season opener of the International Triathlon Union World Triathlon Series.


Chrabot (Virginia Beach, Va.) finished the 1,500-meter swim, 40-kilometer bike, 10-kilometer run event in 1 hour, 57 minutes, 40 seconds. 2012 Olympic silver medalist Javier Gomez won with a time of 1:55:51, nearly five minutes faster than his winning time on the same course in Auckland at the 2012 World Triathlon Series Grand Final in October. Fellow Spaniard Mario Mola was second in 1:56:03 and Joao Silva of Portugal took third in 1:56:22.


Coming out of the water within seven seconds of leader Richard Varga of Slovakia, Chrabot joined the lead pack of cyclists heading out of T1. Though the eight-lap bike course featured a number of tough hill climbs, Chrabot held his position in the pack, edging his way to the front of the field during the final lap.


Exiting T2 to start the run, 27 athletes were within 21 seconds of each other. Gomez and Mola quickly broke away from the field and continued to stretch their lead to the finish. Chrabot held a ninth-place position through the first two laps of the run before fading to 12th.


Germany’s Anne Haug won the women’s race with a time of 2:08:20. Rounding out the podium were Maaike Caelers from the Netherlands in 2:08:23 and Australia’s Felicity Abram in 2:08:33. Gwen Jorgensen (St. Paul, Minn.) did not finish the race.
The eight-race ITU World Triathlon Series resumes April 19-20 with the second annual Omegawave World Triathlon San Diego. Gomez, Haug and other top performers from Auckland are on the start list, which also includes more than 50 London Olympians. Visit  sandiego.triathlon.org for complete event information.


2013 Barfoot & Thompson World Triathlon Auckland
(1,500m swim, 40k bike, 10k run)  

Men – Complete Results
1. Javier Gomez (ESP), 1:55:51
2. Mario Mola (ESP), 1:56:03
3. Joao Silva (POR), 1:56:22
12. Matt Chrabot (Virginia Beach, Va.), 1:57:40


Women – Complete Results
1. Anne Haug (GER), 2:08:20
2. Maaike Caelers (NED), 2:08:23
3. Felicity Abram (AUS), 2:08:33

DNF. Gwen Jorgensen (St. Paul, Minn.)
Matt Chrabot



Filed in: sports / deportes