3:48 pm - Monday December 11, 2017

2013 Community Leadership Award Winners Announced

Leadership Pikes Peak is pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 community leadership awards. Award winners will be honored at Leadership Pikes Peak’s annual Celebration of Community Leadership at the US Olympic Training Center on April 6. More information about the Gala can be found atwww.leadershippikespeak.org/annualevent.

Kimberly Sherwood is the 2013 winner of the Community Inspiration Leadership Award, which recognizes an outstanding volunteer who takes on a leadership role in community or non-profit organizations.  Her business, Third Sector Group, facilitates strategic planning for organizations including TESSA, KRCC, CASA and more. As a board member of Citizens Project, she has worked to promote civic engagement, diversity, and equality in our community.  A founder of the Cultural Office of the Pikes Peak Region (COPPeR), her efforts have encouraged and supported arts and culture in Colorado Springs.  She has also worked with Cottonwood Center for the Arts, the Downtown Development Authority, and the Colorado Springs Philharmonic.

The Modeling the Way Community Leadership Award, which honors a team-building leader who encourages others to get involved, will honor Nathan Newbrough, president and CEO of the Colorado Springs Philharmonic.  Under his dynamic leadership, the orchestra has seen a reinvigorated program and a 170% increase in ticket sales.  The orchestra recently headlined the Waldo Canyon Benefit Concert at the World Arena, thanks largely to Newbrough’s efforts to partner with other local organizations including the Independent, Rocky Mountain PBS, and Focus on the Family.  He also supports the community through participation in COPPeR, the Convention and Visitors Bureau, and the Regional Leadership Forum.

The Emerging Leader Award will be given to Mike Beagley.  This award recognizes a leader under age 35 whose professional or volunteer leadership exemplifies a willingness to lead and the highest standards of character and integrity.  Beagley has been active with Big Brother-Big Sisters and participated in board and fundraising activities.  He is a steering committee member and mentor for Leading Edge, LPP’s new teen leadership program.  He is Cultural Engagement Committee chair and steering committee member for the USOC’s Team USA Young Professionals, and has launched social and networking events to gather young people with established civic leaders.

Martha Barton was selected to receive Leadership Pikes Peak’s highest accolade, the Makepeace Community Trustee Award.  This award, named for former Colorado Springs mayor Mary Lou Makepeace, honors a leader whose sustained involvement has had a broad and lasting impact on the Pikes Peak Community.  As president and CEO of Pikes Peak Hospice and Palliative Care, Barton is leading the only non-profit hospice care organization in our community.  Over the past three decades, Barton and PPHPC have served more than 100,000 citizens with a staff of 250 professionals and 600 volunteers.  A tireless advocate for quality end-of-life care, she has led collaborative efforts and served a long list of organizations at the local, state, and national level, including the National Hospice Executives Roundtable, the Colorado Hospice Organization, and the Pikes Peak Forum for Health Care.




Filed in: community / comunidad