3:13 pm - Sunday December 17, 1132

2012 South Florida “Campeones de Nuestra Comunidad” Award Recipients

Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Cigna’s Chief Diversity Officer, Rosanna Durruthy,
 Jóse M. Hernández, Astronaut, Immigrant Archieve Project’s Tony Hernandez and Liberty Power CEO, David Hernandez
 among this Year’s Recipients of LISTA’s Campeones de Nuestra Comunidad Awards.
Latinos in Information Sciences and Technology Association’s (LISTA) South Florida Technology Council has announced the winners of its Annual Campeones de Nuestra Comunidad Awards, which recognizes community leaders who go above and beyond for the Latino community.  Recipients will be honored at an awards ceremony to be held at the LISTA Emerging Technology Leadership Miami Dade College
The LISTA South Florida Emerging Technology Leadership Summit and “Campeones de Nuestra Comunidad” Awards is Chaired by Julio Fuentes, President and CEO of the Florida State Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and will feature remarks by Rosanna Durruthy Chief Diversity Officer, CIGNA and Jóse M. Hernández, NASA Astronaut and Engineer and Javier Polit, CIO of the Coca Cola Company and Incoming National Chair of Latinos in Information Sciences and Technology Association.
LISTA Emerging Technology Leadership Summit is Sponsored by: AT&T, Aetna, Comcast, Cigna, Coca Cola, City of Miami, Miami Dade College, WorldPay, Ford Motor Company, NCTA, Praxis, State Farm and Verizon.
“Thanks to our partnership with corporate America, LISTA continues to host Emerging Technology Leadership Summit and Campeones de Nuestra Comunidad Awards”, said Jose Marquez-Leon, National President and CEO, LISTA. “It is through the commitment and vision of corporations like these, that LISTA is able to continue our mission to educate, motivate and empower the Latino community with technology and showcase the best of the Latino community.
The LISTA Campeones de Nuestra Comunidad Awards acknowledges community leaders and LISTA members across the State of Florida who have given time and resources to make the Latino community shine on the public stage and who are unsung heroes of our community.
Winners were selected by LISTA’s National and South Florida tech Council Board of Directors in an online voting process.  Selection of these awardees was based on individual contributions made to the Latino community in 2011-2012.
  • Government Beacon Award – Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
  • Visionary Award – Tony Hernandez, CEO, Latino Broadcasting Company
  • Corporate Citizen Award – Rossana Durruthy, Chief Diversity Officer, CIGNA
  • CEO of the Year – David Hernandez, CEO Liberty Power 
  • Trendsetter of the Year– Jose M. Hernandez, Engineer and Astronaut
Our awardees represents the very best America has to offer. They are the manifestation of dedication, integrity and intellect” said Julio Fuentes, President and CEO of the Florida State Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. “It is precisely with the achievements of these winners in mind that LISTA’s commitment to the Latino community remains as strong as ever,” stressed Fuentes. “They are role models in the best possible sense of the word for our next generation of leaders.”
The Event will be held at the Miami Dade College Wolfson Campus
Chapman Auditorium – 3210
300 N.E. 2nd Avenue

Miami, 33132
Monday, March 4th and 5th, 2013
7:30 AM to 5:30 PM (ET)



Filed in: community / comunidad